Turned on my head

As you can tell from the date of my last post, I haven’t been writing here much.  Instead, I’ve been studying like a demon.  And yes, I can easily envision a demon studying.  It looks something like this:

I’m up to my elbows in books and practica.  And I’m loving every brain-sweat-filled moment.

A fellow on the internet recently shared a link to Seahenge gives up its secrets.   A newly-found archeological site containing 55 wooden posts surrounding an upturned oak were exposed when winter storms washed away a sand dune in Norfolk.

And now, finally, to the point.  Quoting from the article:

Dr Francis Pryor, President of the Council for British Archaeology, believes the symbolism of the upside-down oak tree is very important to understanding the Bronze Age mind.”We often find everyday objects deliberately turned upside down at Bronze Age sites. The inverted oak is a very complex statement. It is the world turned upside down, just as death is an inversion of life.”From a ritual point of view it symbolises taking objects out of this world and placing them in the next.”
.

Most of us are nodding about now.  Makes perfect sense.  In several cultures, the world tree is shown as inverted; Yggdrasil and Klipoth to name two.

I all but heard the popping sound of a lightbulb on going off.   A new layer of symbol and meaning I can add to how I make offerings.  Indoors, even in the presence of Aunt Albie, I can place offerings in a teacup, then turn cup over onto saucer with a murmer.  Turning the offerings “on their head” to send them on to the otherworld, along with my spoken words.

My outdoor offerings also take on new layers of meaning, as I now see that pouring out an offering inverts the contents.  (All you who already knew this can stop chuckling now.)

There are days I truly love witchcraft.  And this is one of them!

.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crooks and Straights

Leave a Reply

